HEARTBREAK #4

I have never been dumped
seriously
what the hell
OK
for the record
you were kind
open
genuinely
even sweet
your eyes looked down
your fingers fidgeting
I wanted to hold you
to tell you
that it was going to
be fine
I’m not sure
I knew what was
coming
but maybe I did
maybe I knew for weeks
that we were no longer
Normally I’d have walked away
cut and run
called it off
beat you to it
but I didn’t
I was hopeful
I was in love
of some sort
maybe I was ready to
wait you out
I missed the chance
to protect
myself
my heart
from the crumbling
feeling
the hurt
but
it
is
what
it
is:
My First Dump

10 thoughts on “HEARTBREAK #4

      1. I got dumped two days ago… 1st time… this is new… and in the moment I wrote this. Sigh… I’m still a romantic… will still fall head over heels… like the Aries I am… dive deep in dark water, not knowing

        Like

Leave a Reply

