BEST FRIEND #8

You were up and out
yesterday
hiding my excitement
not wanting to
jinx
what good flow
you were in
Like a sleepy giant
you moved
slowly
assuredly
pacing yourself
“got a meeting”
nonchalant
I say,
“cool”
No need getting too excited
I think
of past
arousings
past glimpses
of a dawn of hope
Just be cool
just be,
I tell myself.
I leave after you
busy busy.
And when
I return
to hear
your day’s
tall tales
you are back
in your cocoon
curled up
in the sheets
tucked away
from the
chatter of life
wanting to wake
you
I can’t ignore
the figurative
sign that
hangs over
your
head
“do
not
disturb”
Maybe
next time…
I stroke your hair
hoping

~These words are from my heart to yours. My thoughts spun to words. Be kind and respect them.~

Leave a Reply

