MY BEST FRIEND #35

image

Many miles away
I wonder how you are
clipped phone calls
say little
seeing you
is believing
not guilty
about the time apart
knowing it will give
me what I need
to be what you need
me
to
be
I trust that the space
between
where a fondness grows
will
console
and the smile
that returns
will smooth
out any wrinkles
felt
while I was away
Trusting
the mind doesn’t
play any tricks
while I’m gone
I slink back
enjoying
what time I have left

One thought on “MY BEST FRIEND #35

Leave a Reply

